Shutlingsloe and Shining Tor (7th January 2024)

As ever, returning from the Highlands left me underwhelmed by the prospect of a walk in the flatlands of the Peak District. The forecast was reasonable though, so I dragged myself out to the western moors around the Cat and Fiddle Pass to stretch the legs. 

I started off south along Whetstone Ridge, then dropped down by Cumberland Brook to Wildboarclough, enjoying the white frost on the rocks and dry-stone walls. 

Frosty moors below Whetstone Ridge
Shutlingsloe ahead

Then it was a steep climb back up to Shutlingsloe, rewarded by extensive, very clear views towards The Roaches to the south, and Macclesfield Forest and Shining Tor to the north, with the Manchester skyline visible in the distance. 

Looking towards The Roaches

I continued through the top of the forest then along some quiet footpaths to reach Lamaload Reservoir, which I circuited on the west and north before climbing back up via Andrew’s Edge (pausing for a late lunch in a sheltered spot) to Shining Tor. 

Lamaload Reservoir
Shining Tor, from Andrew’s Edge
Shutlingsloe, from Shining Tor

My motivation had increased by that point, so I opted for the longer option of descending to Errwood Hall before climbing back up to the Cat and Fiddle, rather than taking the direct path along the ridge. 

Foxlow Edge, from Stakeside

A decent day out overall, with great air clarity. A map of my route can be seen here, and more photos here. 

Leave a comment