Wetton and Dove Dale (26th November 2023)

Amazingly, over a month had passed since my last walking day, if I don’t count a couple of Peak Raid races! Finally I had an empty day in my diary and a dry – if rather grey – forecast. After suffering from a heavy cold for much of this week, and with a chesty cough still lingering, I went for something not too strenuous, starting from the village of Ilam. Having attended the Gentian Club Annual Dinner recently in Fenny Bentley, but not having been available to join in with the associated trip to Ilam Hall bunkhouse, I also felt somewhat inspired to follow in their footprints!

I fancied walking down Dove Dale rather than up it, for a change, so set off north from Ilam, crossing a frosty Ilam Park then passing Castern Hall to follow a scenic footpath along the eastern rim of the Manifold valley towards Wetton village.

Looking down the Manifold valley towards Musden Low
Soles Hill

I then visited the two tops of nearby Wetton Hill, and enjoyed the views back down the Manifold and north over Ecton Hill, before descending southeast to Alstonefield and then down to Milldale.

Ecton Hill, from Wetton Hill (west top)
Looking southeast from Wetton Hill (east top)

I continued down the main Dove Dale footpath, pausing to appreciate the caves at Dove Holes, then the pinnacle of Ilam Rock. The path was damaged in places following the recent flooding, but not at all difficult to pass. Further down, I took the opportunity to head up the short side-path through the impressive natural limestone arch that leads to Reynard’s Cave. Surprisingly, I don’t think I’ve ever actually made that short detour before!

Dove Holes
Ascending through the natural arch
Looking back down from Reynard’s Cave

After a lunch break at Lover’s Leap, I was just left with a short walk down to the car park then over the fields – the muddiest path of the day – back to Ilam. I gave my boots a bit of a wash in the river before driving home!

A map of my route can be seen here, and more photos here.

Leave a comment