Combs Edge and Eldon Hill (27th November 2022)

I have lots of Christmas carolling with the brass band over the coming weekends, so was keen to take advantage of an empty diary today and get out in the Peaks, despite the rather grey and murky conditions. Inspired by some Instagram photos I’d seen quite recently of Combs Edge, a place I’d only visited once, I got an early start and headed back to Buxton to start my walk around 8:30am. My first destination was Corbar Hill, which lies just north of the town, which is an Ethel I hadn’t visited before. A short ascent through the woods brought me to the summit crags, trig point and Alpine-style cross!

Burbage Edge, from Corbar Hill

Well-trodden but fairly boggy paths led from there up onto Combs Moss – I had chosen poorly by wearing my lightest boots and soon had wet feet. I continued north along the zigzagging Edge, pausing to photograph the rocks here and there and to enjoy the views of Burbage Edge to the south and Combs Reservoir below.

Combs Edge
Looking down from Combs Edge
Combs Edge, and Combs Reservoir below

After I’d reached the lane at the northern end of the moor, I followed fairly muddy footpaths via Sittinglow and Barmoor Farms to Sparrowpit – nothing very remarkable although there were some hazy views of Chinley Churn and South Head to enjoy. Next, the path traversing south of Gautries Hill gave more interest, following a wooded rake with lots of pits and gullies, evidence of mining.

Chinley Churn, Mount Famine and South Head in the distance
Mining gullies near Gautries Hill

Once I’d crossed Perry Dale, I was pleased to spot a brand new concession path signposted as a route onto Eldon Hill from the west. Just what I needed, as I had thought I would have to follow the lane all the way around the north side of the quarry to double back from the northeast. Soon I was on the top, with a glimpse of Mam Tor in the view. Eldon Hill was another new Ethel for me, and also re-completed my Derbyshire Tumps (it had been identified as a Tump since I last completed that still-evolving list).

The new signposts had also noted the 55-metre-deep pothole of Eldon Hole, a few hundred metres to the south, so I took a look at that on my way down to Peak Forest. It was difficult to photograph but definitely an impressive sight, reminiscent of the Yorkshire Dales! It doesn’t seem like many people pass that way.

Looking over Eldon Hole to Peak Forest
Looking into Eldon Hole

My route then headed down Dam Dale, where I paused for a late lunch, and Hay Dale, then climbed back up very muddy footpaths to Hargatewall and Tunstead. That just left the final approach to Buxton, a fairly straight footpath on the map but apparently crossing the huge Tunstead Quarry so I was dubious! However, sure enough the path was well marked and fairly well used, using a long footbridge to get over the quarry access railway and roads, then skirting the northern edge of the pit to reach the undisturbed ground on the far side.

Almost sunny in Dam Dale
Tunstead Works, from the footbridge

I got back to the car around 3:30pm, seven hours after I’d started and comfortably before dark. A good long day out including gritstone moorland, muddy farmland, and classic limestone hills and dales. I now only have four Ethels left to bag, all in the far north of the National Park, so quite far from home. An easy goal for next year though!

A map of my route can be seen here, and more photos here.

Leave a comment